Go Back   Kayakfishingstuff.com Community Forums > General Kayak Fishing > Newbies

Newbies Here's the spot for those new to kayak fishing to ask the questions that everyone asks in the beginning. So look for it here and if you don't see it ask.

Closed Thread

Old 06-29-2006, 02:17 PM

Let me prefix this by saying I've been kayaking for probably over 10 years in the Pacific NW and own deck boats.

A kayak guide from Japan visited my wife and I recently. I expressed an interest in kayaking fishing, and he showed me his set-up which was very basic.

Basically, he recommends the "Tsuri-baka-nishi" set-up. "Tsuribakanishi" is based on a Japanese comic book and they have a new movie out every summer. See http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0203174/. Anyway, there's a newbie fishing kit you can buy in stores in Japan that's 980 yen (about $8), which from what I recall is a telescoping rod with reel and some lures. This is what he recommends for fishing for small rockfish around Vancouver Island.

For my week-long camping trip (in a decked boat) in similar places, I was inspired to buy my equipment and give it a shot.

I'm just starting out and simply aspire to augment my typical camp meals with some fish, shellfish, and sea urchins. I don't really want to catch anything larger than I plan to eat for dinner and maybe cook for breakfast, in the neighborhood of 3 pounds of food for the group I'm going to be with. And although I would love to see a salmon, I don't want to catch something too large I'll end up feeding half to the gulls.

From what I've learned in the past week, the key in buying gear is understanding the capacity of the line, in pounds. This determines pretty much the rod, reel, and lures to use. Had I had the clue to ask, the kayak guide would have told me the size line to use.